Homemade Coloured Chalkboard Paint

Posted on

I love the blogosphere. There is SO much creativity and imagination bouncing around, people making, thinking, doing, sharing. Frontiers being smashed to smithereens. I read a post this week that did this for me. It could easily have been about feminist motherhood, gentle parenting or global activism. But, actually, erm. It was about making your own coloured chalkboard paint.

Lemme say it again without hyperventilating: MAKING YOUR OWN COLOURED CHALKBOARD PAINT!

*skips about it total glee*

I have just recently found Ecoempire- a blog that makes my heart sing- and love what she did with the paint. I am working on an upcycled summin summin so have been playing around with the paint for that. But in the mean time I have whipped up a little jar of sweets for our pals who are taking us to Bruges tomorrow for a day trip. You know I love doing things with jars. Such a thrifty way to give gifts, with all the mountains of jars we get through (our own particular mound is primarily due to being such huge gherkin and lemon curd fans.Mmmm. Lemon cuuuuurd.)

Anyway, here you go. Prepare to have your minds completely condoogled with craft and DIY possibilities…

Yeah, for REAL. It is totes that simple.

I am yet to get through a whole tin of blackboard paint so I love that you can just make this up with little bits of paint you have in your cupboard. Someone somehere also has an old tube of grout- so always ask around.

I also painted and superglued a little pig onto the top. I know that is a bit suggestive, giving a jar of sweets with a pig on the top but I didn’t mean in that way, promise. Although one of the recipients loves jelly sweets in an unfathomable way – puts away a whole packet for breakfast even.

I can’t confirm or deny but I think, THINK, this pig may be the one that turned me vegetarian when I was a kid.  We were travelling through Germany and stopped off for some sausages in a roadside cafe and they put a tiny plastic pig on my plate.  I was like “Er, what’s with the pig?” and as I asked the question it all fell into place, the thoughts I had been surpressing my whole childhood. That the beasts of the field end up in our bellies. Clinging to my plastic pig, I vowed meat would never again cross my lips. And it never has. (Apart from a brief period when I used to make salami sandwhiches then take out the salami at the last minute so that the bread and butter still has meat juice on it.)

I did keep him, that momentous pig. And he looked just like this one.

Aaanyway.

I can basically HEAR your minds whirring you crafty foxes- what do you reckon you might make this frontier bashing magical coloured chalkboard paint?

24 responses »

  1. Ooh genius, I wish I’d known this before I made my craft for next week’s ‘Ta-dah! Tuesday’. So there’s a little hint – you’ll have to wait and see what it is though. Ha!

    Reply
  2. Oooooh I am soooooo thinking of what I can chalk board paint. Walls……..cupbaords………….ooooh ooooh chairs!!!!!! Maybe the table then izzy can scribble to her hearts content! Amazing idea, keep em coming! X

    Reply
  3. Gutted I didn’t read this a month ago before I used my mula to buy chalkboard paint for our fridge! Dang it! I will store this away for future use though, thanks Lucy.

    Reply
  4. Oh I actually have the ingredients for this, it looks so cool, I’m going to give it a go. And weird about the pig on a plate, did they do that for every customer?!

    Reply
  5. Wow. You make it sound so easy. I just dabbled in my first chalkboard paint project at Easter with some painted eggs. Maybe I am ready to make my own……

    Reply
  6. Ooh I love the idea of making my own chalkboard paint!
    The piggy on the tin is priceless lol.

    Reply
  7. How cool! I want to have a chalkboard wall in our house, would be so much fun for both our toddler and us!!

    Reply
  8. Pingback: Punk Lamp: Upcycling with old zips «

  9. Only discovered your blog this morning, how I haven’t come across it before I don’t know, love!

    Reply
  10. Love this! We just did a chalkboard wall in my son’s playhouse… now I know about this, I expect I’ll be chalkboarding everything! x

    Reply
  11. I had to bookmark this page! I love the recipe for chalkboard paint!

    Reply
  12. Pingback: DIY placemats with HomeMade Chalkboard Paint « Lulastic and the Hippyshake

  13. Ooooh thats genius….. the perfect something for my daughters’ room… now to just get them to agree to what they want on their wall 😛

    Reply
  14. I would like to paint a large outside wall in the kids playground and make it into a chalk board fun craft area.
    Can I use this recipe for outside areas?

    Reply

Leave a comment